option to create a final snapshot before deleting a cluster
Today when an Atlas cluster is deleted, all backups/snapshots of this cluster are deleted along with it.
This is especially an issue when working with automation tools like terraform, where a cluster can be deleted by accident easily.
In AWS Aurora Postgres, for example, there is an option to create a "final snapshot" before deleting the cluster.
If this option is enabled for a cluster, whenever a user triggers the deletion of the cluster (either manually, via API, or any other method), a final snapshot will be created, before the cluster is deleted.
This final snapshot is then available independently of the deleted cluster, so in case of accidental deletion, we can create a new cluster based on this snapshot.
This would be a huge security and safety improvement.
Totally need that feature ! Could be a life saver.
We need this feature!
This would be awesome.
For now we are backuping all the backup in Google Cloud Storage. Backuping backup, that's crazy!