Require user confirmation before saving over a favorite connection
Currently if you accidentally click "Paste connection string" on a saved favorite connection, all the manually inputted and saved connection settings will disappear. A favorite connection should not be edited until the user explicitly confirms it should be saved. It's extremely frustrating to have to reconfigure a "saved" connection due to clicking on something that gives no indication it will modify the saved settings at all
I'm on version Version 1.20.5 (1.20.5), although now I realize the issue is not what I initially described.
There is no "You have unsaved changes.[discard][save changes]" message displayed although the values displayed are different from the saved state. But the saved connection is not actually overwritten despite the lack of a message indicating it hasn't been saved
AdminMassimiliano (Admin, MongoDB) commented
what version of Compass are you using? It sounds like you are using 1.19 or older. I suggest you try Compass 1.20 where we introduced a new connect screen and see if that solves the problem for you.