Do not delete backups of deleted deployments
Backups normaly protect from accidental deletion of a database. In a devOps environment it can happen that a MDB resource gets deleted by a Kubernetes deployment. At the moment, Ops Manager then deactivates the backup and deletes all snapshots. We would like to have the snapshots stored as long as their retention limit tells or at least until the project itself is deleted in Ops Manager.
So that, if a developer detects the mistake and re-deploys the MDB resource(s), someone or even himself can restore the database(s) from the backups.
We do not delete Ops Manager project when Backup is present.
This has been addressed
AdminJoshua (Admin, MongoDB) commented
I don't know if that is the spirit of the ask. There are many times when this could be useful. Someone may delete the cluster, but want to maintain the backups just in case and let them expire in their normal way.
Or, in the case of migrating to the new backups, this would be tremendously useful when customers need to change snapshot storage. Allowing for the backups to stay disconnected from the cluster delete would give us multiple options.
I ment it the other way around. I know, that the project is not deleted. But the problem is, the backups are deleted when the deployment is deleted. Only the project stays.
What I would like is that the backups also stay together with the project.
I tested it three times now, and everytime I deleted the deployment, the project stayed but the backups were gone. That is pretty bad in case of an accidenal delete.
Just for clarification, when a MongoDB resource is deleted via the Operator (or series of API calls to Ops Manager), deletion of the backups is a prerequisite before the deployment can be deleted.
Ops Manager requires that backups are terminated before a deployment can be deleted.
This feature request is to decouple that requirement. This should perhaps be categorized as an Ops Manager feature request rather than Operator request.
- Deleting an MDB in k8s that had active backups, the backups are terminated in Ops Manager. Would prefer if the existing snapshots remained until expiration.
- Moving a deployment from one project to another in Ops Manager requires that you terminate and lose your old snapshots before you can unmanage, delete, and import to the new project.